2021 NYSCASA Board Slate

NYSCASA 2021 Annual Meeting – June 10, 2021, 3-4:30pm

On Thursday, June 10, 2021, NYSCASA will hold its annual meeting virtually 3–4:30pm; information to participate in that meeting is forthcoming. The meeting will include a presentation on self-care, along with conducting official business.

Whether or not you are able to attend the meeting, each member rape crisis program in good standing is allowed one vote on the proposed NYSCASA Board slate (below).

Please submit your ballot by June 9, 2021, to the attention of Joanne Zannoni via scanned email attachment (jzannoni@nyscasa.org). If you need an alternate method to submit your vote, contact Joanne by email.

Click here to download the announcement and ballot as a PDF; click here to download it as a Word document.

Nominations for NYSCASA Board of Directors

The Nominations Committee wishes to thank these Directors for their service:

  • Karol Dean is the former Dean, School of Social and Behavioral Science, and Professor of Psychology at Mercy College in Dobbs Ferry who served as Board Treasurer 2018–2020.
  • Deborah Faust is Director of the Mental Health Association in New York State’s Family Engagement Services in Albany who served 2018–2020.
  • Dee Levy is an Individual and Family Support Director at New York State Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs who served as Board Secretary 2015–2018 and Board President 2018–2021.
  • Sarah Tubbs FitzSimmons is a therapist at ANDRUS who served 2015–2021.

The Nominations Committee proposes this slate for membership on the NYSCASA Board of Directors:

Director Term
Sarita Green is Associate Director of Fearless! Hudson Valley, Inc. First: 2021–2024
Reina Schiffrin is Principal Advisor of Schiffrin Management Consulting and former Executive Director of Victims Information Bureau of Suffolk. First: 2021–2024
Rachel Barranca Powell is the Director of the Division of Quality Improvement Data Analysis and Evaluation for the NYS Office for People With Developmental Disabilities. First: 2021–2024
Elaine Theodore is a trauma therapist and yoga teacher. First: 2020–2023
Saswati Sarkar is Deputy Director at Red Hook Initiative. First: 2020–2023
Lexa DeJesus-Petrone is a Director at the Changing Futures Program at Kingsbridge Heights Community Center. First: 2020–2023
Elisha Wolfer is Director of the Sexual Assault Resource Center of Planned Parenthood of Greater New York. First: 2020–2023
JoLynn Backes is a Victim Services Specialist with Victim Advocacy Services of Planned Parenthood of Greater New York. First: 2020–2023
Nick Beard is an attorney who works at The Center for Sex Education. Nick served as Board Treasurer 2020–2021. First: 2020–2023
Janice Brown is serving as Board Secretary 2020–2022. First: 2020–2023
Kathy Hanlon O’Connell is Professor Emeritus of Health and Exercise Science at Dutchess Community College. First: 2019–2022
Tamika Payne is an independent consultant working with organizations to address gender inequality and violence with a focus on diversity and inclusion. Tamika served as Board Vice-President 2019–2021. First: 2018–2021
Second: 2021–2024

Click here to download the announcement and ballot as a PDF; click here to download it as a Word document.